SeptWritingChallenge

Over on Twitter I met a woman (Kristy Acevedo, aka @KristyAce) who started the July Writing Challenge, the gist of which was to write 500 words every day in July. She invited writers in the Twitterverse to join her, and the thing became so successful many decided to continue in August. And again in September.

I participated at the end of July and somewhat haphazardly during August. This is the first month I’m in the mix with more serious intent, and I must admit it helps tremendously. I’ve had an especially crazy week, but, because I committed to the challenge, I’ve scraped together enough minutes to write at least 500 words each day, even when I haven’t felt like writing at all. At least one writer in the challenge is on a writing streak of more than fifty days. Those who use the hashtag for the challenge encourage one another, even when goals are missed. It’s the closest thing I have to a writers’ group right now.

If you’re a writer of any stripe and need a motivation boost, I recommend the Writing Challenge. And you don’t have to wait for the first of the month to join. Check out their website for more information, or check out #SeptWritingChallenge on Twitter. Let’s do this!

Leave a comment